-
-
July 12, 2024 at 9:29 amFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
UDF suddenly stopped loading. It compiles fine, but when I load it I get
Error at Node 5: Error code: 5
Error at Node 6: Error code: 5
Error at Node 7: Error code: 5
etc...
I have tried other UDF that I know worked before but still get the same error.
I also run Fluent as Admin and use in-built to compile.
I couldn't find any refrence to Error code: 5 on Nodes; is there any more info about this error
===============Message from the Cortex Process================================
Compute processes interrupted. Processing can be resumed.
==============================================================================
Error at Node 5: Error code: 5
Error at Node 3: Error code: 5
Error at Node 4: Error code: 5
Error at Node 2: Error code: 5
Error at Node 1: Error code: 5
[PCNAME]: Opening library "C:\Users\Desktop\testt_files\dp0\FFF\Fluent\libudf"...
Error at Node 0: Error code: 5
-
July 15, 2024 at 10:55 amRobForum Moderator
Can you open a Fluent session & try to compile the code. Don't load a case file. It also looks like you're running in Workbench, try Fluent in standalone mode.
-
July 16, 2024 at 2:27 pmFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
I have now tried launching the fluent 2023R1 (as admin with no case file loaded) and still getting the same error message.
it compiles the code fine, the issue is when I press load I still get this error.
what is error code 5 linked too?
[PC-NAME]: Opening library "C:\Users\username\Desktop\libudf"...
Error at Node 5: Error code: 5
Error at Node 1: Error code: 5
Error at Node 4: Error code: 5
Error at Node 2: Error code: 5
Error at Node 3: Error code: 5
[PC-NAME]: Opening library "C:\Users\username\Desktop\libudf"...
Error at Node 0: Error code: 5 -
July 16, 2024 at 2:39 pmRobForum Moderator
Can you try putting the files in C:/something and avoid the Windows folders? Shouldn't be a problem but I've seen OS problems where certain things are locked down by IT. Also, does "username" mean username or your ID? If the latter are there any nonEnglish characters in it?
-
July 16, 2024 at 3:11 pmFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
I have created a folder in C drive and tried it, still same issue. "username" is my ID (personal name with "-" inbetween)
Have copied all the log from the console here if it helps (i only have removed my pc name and Connected License Server List for security purpose):
Opening input/output transcript to file "C:\Test\fluent-20240716-160452-15116.trn".
Auto-Transcript Start Time: 16:04:52, 16 Jul 2024 GMT Summer TimeWelcome to ANSYS Fluent 2023 R1
Copyright 1987-2023 ANSYS, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized use, distribution or duplication is prohibited.
This product is subject to U.S. laws governing export and re-export.
For full Legal Notice, see documentation.Build Time: Nov 28 2022 09:52:41 EST Build Id: 10208
Connected License Server List: ****ansys-licence****--------------------------------------------------------------
This is an academic version of ANSYS FLUENT. Usage of this product
license is limited to the terms and conditions specified in your ANSYS
license form, additional terms section.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Host spawning Node 0 on machine "PC-NAME" (win64).-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ID Hostname Core O.S. PID Vendor
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
n5 **** 6/32 Windows-x64 6496 Intel(R) Xeon(R) Silver 4215R
n4 **** 5/32 Windows-x64 20344 Intel(R) Xeon(R) Silver 4215R
n3 **** 4/32 Windows-x64 17440 Intel(R) Xeon(R) Silver 4215R
n2 **** 3/32 Windows-x64 856 Intel(R) Xeon(R) Silver 4215R
n1 **** 2/32 Windows-x64 13768 Intel(R) Xeon(R) Silver 4215R
n0* **** 1/32 Windows-x64 25480 Intel(R) Xeon(R) Silver 4215R
host **** Windows-x64 16916 Intel(R) Xeon(R) Silver 4215RMPI Option Selected: intel
Selected system interconnect: default
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------Cleanup script file is C:\Test\cleanup-fluent-****-16916.bat
> Copy "2D_WANG_sent.c" to "C:\Test\libudf\src"
Copyright 1987-2023 ANSYS, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Compiler and linker: Clang (builtin)
Compiler path: "C:\PROGRA~1\ANSYSI~1\v231\fluent"\ntbin\clang\bin\clang-cl
Linker path: "C:\PROGRA~1\ANSYSI~1\v231\fluent"\ntbin\clang\bin\lld-link
C sources: ['2D_WANG_sent.c']Copyright 1987-2023 ANSYS, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Compiler and linker: Clang (builtin)
Compiler path: "C:\PROGRA~1\ANSYSI~1\v231\fluent"\ntbin\clang\bin\clang-cl
Linker path: "C:\PROGRA~1\ANSYSI~1\v231\fluent"\ntbin\clang\bin\lld-link
C sources: ['2D_WANG_sent.c']Done.
PC-NAME: Opening library "C:\Test\libudf"...
Error at Node 1: Error code: 5
Error at Node 5: Error code: 5
Error at Node 3: Error code: 5
Error at Node 4: Error code: 5
PC-NAME: Opening library "C:\Test\libudf"...
Error at Node 0: Error code: 5
Error at Node 2: Error code: 5 -
July 16, 2024 at 3:58 pmRobForum Moderator
And the computer name has no odd characters?
-
July 16, 2024 at 4:49 pmFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
No just "-" inbetween departement name and pc name. I have also now tried uninstalling Ansys, and re-installing it and still getting this error.
-
July 17, 2024 at 9:08 amRobForum Moderator
Can you post the code? I’m assuming it’s 2d and you launched the solver in 2d? Note, I won't be debugging in any detail but may spot something.
-
July 18, 2024 at 8:27 amFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
Yes its a 2D case and I am lunching fluent in 2d. I have tried two code I know used to work (3 weeks ago) here is one of them taken from GitHub:
#include "udf.h"
#define T_max 4 /*Flow time in s when the morphing stops*/
#define W_te 0.001*0.2286 /*Maximum flap deflection*/
#define x_s 0.75*0.2286 /*location where the morphing starts*/
#define Thick 0.12 /*Airfoil thickness 12/100 in NACA 0012*/
#define freq 100 /*Morphing frequency*/
#define FTT 0.004 /*Time in s when the moprhing starts*/
#define chord 0.2286 /*Airfoil chord*/DEFINE_GRID_MOTION(morphing_upper, domain, dt, time, dtime)
{
Thread *tf = DT_THREAD(dt);
face_t f;
Node *node_p;
real x, y, thickness, camber, theta, yupper, dy_c, slope, xupper;
int n;/* Set/activate the deforming flag on adjacent cell zone, which */
/* means that the cells adjacent to the deforming wall will also be */
/* deformed, in order to avoid skewness. */
SET_DEFORMING_THREAD_FLAG(THREAD_T0(tf));/* Loop over the deforming boundary zone's faces; */
/* inner loop loops over all nodes of a given face; */
/* Thus, since one node can belong to several faces, one must guard */
/* against operating on a given node more than once: */begin_f_loop(f, tf)
{
f_node_loop(f, tf, n)
{
node_p = F_NODE(f, tf, n);/* Update the current node only if it has not been */
/* previously visited: */
if (NODE_POS_NEED_UPDATE(node_p))
{
/* Set flag to indicate that the current node's */
/* position has been updated, so that it will not be */
/* updated during a future pass through the loop: */
NODE_POS_UPDATED(node_p);x = NODE_X(node_p);
thickness = (chord * Thick / 0.2) * (0.2969 * sqrt(x / chord) - 0.1260 * x / chord - 0.3516 * pow((x / chord), 2) + 0.2843 * pow((x / chord), 3) - 0.1036 * pow((x / chord), 4));if (CURRENT_TIME > FTT)
{
if (x >= x_s)
{
camber = -(W_te * sin(2 * M_PI * (CURRENT_TIME - FTT) * freq) * pow((x - x_s), 3)) / (pow((chord - x_s), 3));
dy_c = (-3 * W_te * sin(2 * M_PI * (CURRENT_TIME - FTT) * freq) * pow((x - x_s), 2)) / (pow((chord - x_s), 3));
theta = atan((-3 * W_te * sin(2 * M_PI * (CURRENT_TIME - FTT) * freq)) * pow((x - x_s), 2) / (pow((chord - x_s), 3)));
xupper = x - thickness * sin(theta);
yupper = camber + thickness * cos(theta);
NODE_Y(node_p) = yupper;
}
}
}
}
}
end_f_loop(f, tf);
}
DEFINE_GRID_MOTION(morphing_lower, domain, dt, time, dtime)
{
Thread* tf = DT_THREAD(dt);
face_t f;
Node* node_p;
real x, y, thickness, camber, theta, lower, dy_c, xlower, slope;
int n;/* Set/activate the deforming flag on adjacent cell zone, which */
/* means that the cells adjacent to the deforming wall will also be */
/* deformed, in order to avoid skewness. */
SET_DEFORMING_THREAD_FLAG(THREAD_T0(tf));/* Compute the angles: */
/* Loop over the deforming boundary zone's faces; */
/* inner loop loops over all nodes of a given face; */
/* Thus, since one node can belong to several faces, one must guard */
/* against operating on a given node more than once: */begin_f_loop(f, tf)
{
f_node_loop(f, tf, n)
{
node_p = F_NODE(f, tf, n);/* Update the current node only if it has not been */
/* previously visited: */
if (NODE_POS_NEED_UPDATE(node_p))
{
/* Set flag to indicate that the current node's */
/* position has been updated, so that it will not be */
/* updated during a future pass through the loop: */
NODE_POS_UPDATED(node_p);x = NODE_X(node_p);
thickness = (chord * Thick / 0.2) * (0.2969 * sqrt(x / chord) - 0.1260 * x / chord - 0.3516 * pow((x / chord), 2) + 0.2843 * pow((x / chord), 3) - 0.1036 * pow((x / chord), 4));if (CURRENT_TIME > FTT) {
if (x >= x_s) {
camber = -(W_te * sin(2 * M_PI * ((CURRENT_TIME - FTT) * freq)) * pow((x - x_s), 3)) / (pow((chord - x_s), 3));
dy_c = (-3 * W_te * sin(2 * M_PI * (CURRENT_TIME - FTT) * freq)) * pow((x - x_s), 2) / (pow((chord - x_s), 3));
theta = atan((-3 * W_te * sin(2 * M_PI * (CURRENT_TIME - FTT) * freq)) * pow((x - x_s), 2) / (pow((chord - x_s), 3)));
slope = sin(theta);
xlower = x + thickness * slope;
lower = camber - thickness * cos(theta);
NODE_Y(node_p) = lower;
}
}
}
}
}
end_f_loop(f, tf);
} -
July 18, 2024 at 11:05 amRobForum Moderator
Used to work and now doesn't? That's odd. Can you double check you're working with the same .c file, and are working with the one you think you are? Have you switched from Windows to Linux?
-
July 18, 2024 at 11:23 amFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
yea i my thoughts as well. I have double checked its the same one i have used for my prevouse runs. No I haven't switched OS. I am trying to reinstall ansys 2023R1 again today and will try again. could it be an issue with the licences? my universty usualy goes through upgrading ansys verison over the summer period. The odd thing is that is compiles fine too, I have also tried another UDF that I have used before and also gave me the same error
-
July 18, 2024 at 12:08 pmRobForum Moderator
So all UDFs are compiling but then failing to load? A licence issue would normally stop the solver from loading, so that's unlikely. Try renaming the %appdata% folder(s) for Fluent.
-
July 23, 2024 at 9:25 amFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
where would I find that folder?
my fluent Root Path is: C:\PROGRA~1\ANSYSI~1\v231\fluent
and Environment for UDF is: C:\PROGRA~1\ANSYSI~1\v231\fluent\ntbin\win64\udf.bat
-
July 23, 2024 at 10:04 amRobForum Moderator
C:\Users\user-id\AppData
-
July 23, 2024 at 12:27 pmFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
I just tried changing and renaming the AppData for fluent, but still no luck :(
-
July 23, 2024 at 12:35 pmFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
I have just tried my other pc that has 2022R1 and a old UDF that I have used many times and still getting this error:
[PC-NAME]: Opening library "C:\test\test_files\dp0\FLU\Fluent\libudf"...
Error at host: Error code: 5
===============Message from the Cortex Process================================Compute processes interrupted. Processing can be resumed.
==============================================================================
Error: Error code: 5\n
Error Object: #f -
July 23, 2024 at 12:55 pmFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
I just managed to solve the loading error. I had to open Fluent using "x64_x86 Cross Tool Command Prompt for VS 2022," and I compiled the code without using the built-in compilers. Then it seems to have loaded normally now. I will still need to check the code functions correctly. What do you think might have suddenly caused this?
-
July 23, 2024 at 2:16 pmGeorge KarnosAnsys Employee
Hello Fakhreddine,
Has anything changed on this system from when it use to work, until now?
Updates?
Installed new software?
If you open a DOS Command Prompt and type in the following, what is reurned?
set PATH -
July 23, 2024 at 4:13 pmFakhreddine MadiSubscriber
I am not sure if there was an update; my organisation is in control of my Windows updating. I did not install any new software when this happened, seems abit weird. I have checked fluent and the code seems to be working now when I lunch it through MS VS 2022 envorment and not use the build-in compiler.
C:\>set PATH
Path=C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\tbb\latest\redist\intel64\vc_mt\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\tbb\latest\redist\ia32\vc_mt\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\compiler\latest\windows\redist\intel64_win\compiler;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\compiler\latest\windows\redist\ia32_win\compiler;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Intel\Shared Libraries\redist\ia32_win\mpirt;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Intel\Shared Libraries\redist\ia32_win\compiler;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Intel\Shared Libraries\redist\intel64_win\mpirt;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Intel\Shared Libraries\redist\intel64_win\compiler;C:\Program Files\Tecplot\Tecplot Chorus 2022 R1\bin;C:\Program Files\Tecplot\Tecplot 360 EX 2022 R1\bin;C:\Program Files\Microsoft MPI\Bin\;C:\Program Files\Python310\Scripts\;C:\Program Files\Python310\;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;C:\WINDOWS\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\WINDOWS\System32\OpenSSH\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\Windows Performance Toolkit\;C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA NvDLISR;C:\Program Files\dotnet\;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\;C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\150\Tools\Binn\;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Advance\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Advance\;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2023b\bin;C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Windows Performance Toolkit\;C:\Users\f-madi-admin\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;C:\Users\f-madi-admin\.dotnet\tools
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.MSC;.PY;.PYW
-
- The topic ‘UDF loading error’ is closed to new replies.
- Non-Intersected faces found for matching interface periodic-walls
- Unburnt Hydrocarbons contour in ANSYS FORTE for sector mesh
- Help: About the expression of turbulent viscosity in Realizable k-e model
- Cyclone (Stairmand) simulation using RSM
- error udf
- Diesel with Ammonia/Hydrogen blend combustion
- Fluent fails with Intel MPI protocol on 2 nodes
- Mass Conservation Issue in Methane Pyrolysis Shock Tube Simulation
- Script error Code: 800a000d
- Encountering Error in Heterogeneous Surface Reaction
-
1191
-
513
-
488
-
225
-
209
© 2024 Copyright ANSYS, Inc. All rights reserved.